ICDL Computer Training

International Computer Driving Licence (ICDL)

The ICDL is the world’s leading end-user computing skills certification programme and is an internationally recognized qualification. The ICDL syllabus is designed to cover the key concepts of computing, its practical applications and their use in the workplace and society in general. The ICDL certification is broken down into modules. Tests must be passed for each of the 7 module before an ICDL certificate is awarded. The syllabus is designed by a panel of experts which is managed and co-ordinated in conjunction with the ECDL (European Computer Driving Licence) Foundation. The syllabus includes regular updates incorporating the advances in technologies and practices, so as to remain constantly relevant in the industry.

The ICDL syllabus is mapped to SAQA qualification No 49077 and the foundation is accredited as an Assessment Centre with ISETT Seta.

Entrance Requirements

No prior knowledge of IT or computer skills is required to study ICDL.

Who Should Attend

The ICDL is designed specifically for those who wish to gain the benchmark qualification in computing, to enable them to develop their IT skills and enhance their career prospects.

Course Outline

The ICDL Core Certificate comprises of the following:

  • Basic Concepts of Information Technology

  • Using the Computer and Managing Files and Folders.

  • Word Processing

  • Spreadsheets

  • Databases

  • Presentations

  • Information and Communication

The IDCL Start Certificate comprises of any of the 4 modules shown above


The ICDL Core requires candidates to pass tests in all 7 modules of the ICDL.

The ICDL Start requires candidates to pass tests in any 4 modules of the ICDL.